And now, another poem

30 Dec

An end of year happened reunion
Some discomfort and unfamiliarity
But they’re like me and I’m like them
And soon our lips conquer our shakiness.
My mode is dominant, as they know.
I thank them for accommodating.

I find that every bit I learn
of myself
Is thanks to them, to it, to whatever it may be
in front of me, at that given moment.
I am as I choose to be in each vignette of
grouped breaths, and these
as you can imagine,
form a larger picture I’ve only seen out of focus.
It will be clearer some day. I’m not in a hurry.

It’s what she said that invoked this in me.
I like to think of it as defiance; a will to live
and to live happily. I am more sure each day
that it takes more courage to do that than to numb.

When I see succumbing, I want to push hard
When I hear silence, I want to scream
When I see idleness, I want to shake you and me.
Not just borne of self-indulgence
(maybe a little)
but out of instinct – the unexplainable urge to do exactly
That way or this.
A full breath when oxygen was scarce a second earlier.
At least for now, I despise complacency.

2 Responses to “And now, another poem”

  1. Sean Weathers February 26, 2010 at 07:35 #

    “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.”–Edmund Burke

    I dig your superhero picture, it’s awesome.

    • Night Writer February 28, 2010 at 00:18 #

      that is right, good sir!
      hehe, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

