OK, not so fun

9 Mar

FUCK IT.

I stuck a semi-funny post I was just trying to write in the draft folder ’cause that’s not where my head is right now. I was trying to be a good girl at work today; no IM, no internet, straight work. Then my mom’s number showed up on the caller ID.

Hi moooooooom!!!

Juliana. It’s dad. Your mom had a small accident, she fell down the stairs and hit her head. She’s awake and answering questions now but she was unconscious for a little bit after the fall so the paramedics are taking her to the hospital.

I froze. My dad told me not to worry, insisted everything was perfectly fine and that he was on the way to the hospital too. I had a lot of work to catch up on, so I decided to stay put. Twenty minutes later it dawned on me; my dad speaks horrible English. I called him to see what was up and he said he had just gotten to the hospital. He is an extremely proud man and though he wouldn’t admit it, I could tell he was feeling kind of lost. I told him to find his way to the emergency room, sit down and wait for me to call him back. I got in the car and called the hospital.Ā  The operator transferred me to the nurse who was caring for her. She told me my mom was OK and I asked her to relay the message that dad would be there in a few minutes and I was on my way as well. Then I called my dad.

Go up to anyone behind a desk and say: “My wife is in the hospital. Please help translate.” Then hand him/her the phone.

I spoke with a hospital attendant who looked up my mom’s info and told me he’d guide my dad to where she was. I called again and my dad confirmed he was with her. Two cigarettes later I cried a little bit. My parents have been the most SOLID ROCKS in my life. My mother is a superb woman who takes equally good care of my father as she did (and does) with her children. My dad is an intelligent, kind, and protective man who, at that moment, couldn’t exactly be much help to her.

Seeing your mom on a hospital bed with an IV is not cool, but my dad despises drama, so I didn’t cry. I accompanied her as the staff moved her around for an x-ray and CAT scan, and went into the bathroom with her when she needed to go. I didn’t want to leave her side until she was back home with clear test results.

I’m in the kitchen now, my mom, dad and sister are watching American Idol in the living room.

Juliana, you need to go home. It’s getting late, Tori needs you.


Be quiet, woman, you hit your head, you’re confused.

It’s fucking scary to think “what if” scenarios, so I won’t. I’m just happy to be here, I’m happy to have a fucking amazing family, and I’m already happy for all the moments we still have ahead of us.

13 Responses to “OK, not so fun”

  1. Ask Alice March 9, 2010 at 23:11 #

    Glad to hear your mom is doing better. Good thing you were around to provide support for your dad throughout the ordeal

    PS – I heard of you from Matt, I like what I see so far!

  2. Robin March 9, 2010 at 23:29 #

    Oh my god, that must have been so terrifying. I’m so happy your mom is doing well though – American Idol and all! Shockingly, my mom was taken this past weekend to the ER on a total random thing too, so I know exactly how you feel. PS – I love how you chose to end your post on that note. Talk about warm fuzzy endings to a scary story.

  3. Duke Fandango March 10, 2010 at 08:57 #

    Hey,

    My thoughts are with you and your mum.

  4. wanderingmenace March 10, 2010 at 12:21 #

    Hi there,
    Hope that everything is ok now with your family. Scary when something like that happens.
    Sending you good vibes.

  5. Natalie Cottrell March 10, 2010 at 12:51 #

    Amen for the positive, grateful attitude! I’m so glad everything worked out for your mama. It’s incredibly scary when you can’t be around right in the mix of things, but very thankful you got to put your arms around her (and your sweet dad) before the day’s end. Hope that’s the last scare for many, many years!

    • Juliana March 10, 2010 at 13:08 #

      amen to THAT, natalie!
      mom’s doing well, resting today. dad’s home with her.

      thank you guys for thinking of us šŸ™‚

  6. fallingfromprams March 10, 2010 at 22:21 #

    I’m keeping you and your family in my thoughts. *hug*

    • Juliana March 11, 2010 at 09:58 #

      *super tight virtual hug* back šŸ™‚ thank you!

  7. id March 10, 2010 at 22:51 #

    I do not understand how you get such nice people to read your blog… Anyways, hope your mom is doing better. We missed you last night, I think…

  8. Carly Findlay March 14, 2010 at 01:34 #

    Hey there
    sorry to hear this sad news. I hope your mum is on the mend now. She will be happy to have her family around, especially a lovely daughter like you.
    Carly

  9. subject-verb agreement March 14, 2010 at 15:00 #

    looks like your mom taught you well. i’m glad she’s safe and sound. xo

    • Juliana March 15, 2010 at 19:10 #

      thank you, thank you šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

