Before I get too drunk…

16 Mar

It’s 5:01pm and I need to leave work to shave my legs because I’m putting on a dress for my dear friends. I do love dresses and wear them all the time in warm weather, it’s just… been cold. For a long time.

I’m 27 and it feels a little strange. Does it? Or do I just say that because I feel the need to say something when asked “how does it feel???”

Well… it feels like Tuesday after three hours of sleep. It feels lucky that, after days of nonstop rain, we have clear skies and a bright shining sun. It feels safe to hear my parents’ voice on the other end of the telephone line, singing Happy Birthday in unison (with dad making a funny voice). It feels relaxed to have my doggie at work with me today, even though I let her outside and forgot about her for like, 20mins… it’s OK, she got tired of waiting and barked, so I opened the door for her.

I guess I feel alive, lucky, loved, and hopeful. I’m here and I’m healthy and that’s all I can ask for. Everything else will fall into place.

Happy Birthday to all the March 16th dreamy Pisceans whose hearts sometimes feel much too big to fit their chests, but somehow they make it work with an honest smile and a decidedly insatiable thirst for life and love.

7 Responses to “Before I get too drunk…”

  1. Barbara March 16, 2010 at 18:26 #

    Happy Birthday!

  2. wanderingmenace March 16, 2010 at 18:41 #

    Sounds like a great day! Cool you got to have your doggie at work with you. It’s great having a sidekick.

  3. Sean March 16, 2010 at 19:05 #

    This is beautiful in its honest simplicity. (happy birthday, again)

  4. Robin March 16, 2010 at 19:55 #

    To my new favorite blogess,

    Hope you’re having an amazing birthday! And the last sentence of your post is so perfectly, beautifully said.

  5. subject-verb agreement March 17, 2010 at 01:24 #

    happy bornday, fellow fish. xo

  6. Juliana March 17, 2010 at 09:13 #

    Thank you very much, guys 🙂
    and Happy Bornday to you, fellow Piscean 😉

  7. Carly Findlay March 20, 2010 at 16:37 #

    Happy birthday! I hope it was great and being 27 is a great age for you!

Leave a Reply

