I liked you, now what?

13 Apr

The drive was deliberately slow.  I was showered and ready to go quicker than I expected to, and sitting around waiting for the clock to hit 7pm was the most stressful thing I could do at the moment. I grabbed the keys, kissed the dog’s muzzle, and started driving 21 minutes ahead of schedule.

The highway was avoided and I took Commonwealth Avenue instead. Suburban living can be nice when you have time and gasoline to spare; a street like Comm. Ave. will take you from blue-collar Waltham, through affluent Newton, Boston College, Kenmore Square, and finally into Back Bay –  where tourist cameras and Bostonian briefcases clash along narrow sidewalks. Thanks to the red lights, construction delays and adventurous pedestrians (there’s no way they would do that in New York), I arrived at the restaurant just four minutes early. Thank you, Spring, for allowing me to enjoy a cigarette outdoors.

Truthfully, I was nervous. He was funny, interesting, and attractive and I was fostering a four-day crush that started three seconds after we met.  He had caught me off guard; I was accompanying a friend to an event “for just an hour or so” before heading to the usual Saturday night spot. When we locked eyes and shook hands, I decided I’d have to talk to him for as long as I was there.

He wasn’t hot. It was the way he looked at me. He dared to stare longer and sincerely. It puzzled me and made me giddy. So naturally, I moved to the other side of the room  because, if there’s a chance he’s interested, I’d rather not be approached right now. Right now I would mess up my own name, forget my age, where I live, stutter like the 12 year-old immigrant my subconscious cannot evict… I needed to move away, shake my wrists, take a hit of the bong going around, and discuss some very serious political topic with another person. After a few minutes of regrouping, I would dazzle him with… something. I hadn’t decided yet. Either that or my conversation mate would excuse himself mid-sentence and my secret admiree would accost me a second later.

Oh hey!

So how do you know our friend David? Did you go to high school with him too?

Yep, yep, I did. Um, no, actually, we went to college together. And then I became friends with his high school friends too, because we all went to college together and now we’re friends. All of us. [WHAT?]

After forty minutes of chatting, I could tell he was a really nice guy.  He was actually listening to all of my words, laughing occasionally, and contributing clever words of his own. A passerby would conclude that we were indeed, a man and a woman engaged in conversation. Once I realized that, I glanced at my watch and was relieved to learn it was time to go. He and I hugged good-bye and his embrace was comfortable, his scent was pleasing, and again, he disarmed me with his gaze just before wrapping arms around my waist. I needed to get into the car and away from there.

Uuummm… sooo… I kinda liked your friend.
Duh, you guys talked the whole time. What’d you talk about?
I dunno, everything. You know.
Right. Did you give him your number?
No, I wanted to get away. I’ll add him on Facebook.
You’re very strange.
LALALA!!!!

I’m great on paper (or on a computer screen). In person, I’m a native gibberish speaker – if I like you. And since I had liked him, the stomach pain I was feeling while smoking a cigarette outside of the burger joint I picked as our meeting spot was… uncomfortable and undesired. Hopefully it would force me to eat less.  I lit my second cancer stick and raised my head to find him, crossing the street, looking as cute as he did while smiling and shaking my hand the other night. He removed the cigarette from his mouth. His eyes were tiny and child-like mid-smile and I decided to take that as reassurance. If we’re actually here, it’s because we both chose to be. Perhaps I should relax and have a few laughs?

11 Responses to “I liked you, now what?”

  1. inna April 14, 2010 at 10:49 #

    OOO but what happens next? this is better than LOST! i’m so intrigued ……

  2. The Mercurial Wife April 14, 2010 at 10:59 #

    Yes I’m curious to find out what happened next?!

  3. Juliana April 14, 2010 at 12:23 #

    i love you girls. i mean it.

  4. The Girl Is Goosed April 14, 2010 at 14:32 #

    Oooooh! I’m so excited for you!! I need to know what happened??

    I am so like you when I actually like a guy..maybe even worse, which is why I usually bolt. But I havent liked anyone in a while…

    Happy for you!!

  5. Juliana April 14, 2010 at 15:54 #

    lovely, lovely ladies.. hate to bust our awesome bubble of sisterhood… but this is a lil piece of fiction.

    here i go crushing all of our dreams.

  6. Matt April 15, 2010 at 07:16 #

    I knew it was fiction… who actually uses a bong anymore?

    kidding.

    sort of.

    Sorry, Im a joint kind of guy. Never understood the bong thing. Now I must end this comment because clearly, I missed the entire point of this post.

    • Juliana April 15, 2010 at 09:33 #

      joints are fun to pass around. bongs are great; i enjoy the sound of the bubbling water, plus it’s better for your throat than the dry smoke.

      vaporizers are where it’s at. healthy, economical and portable ones can be used anywhere; no smell left behind 🙂
      http://www.my-iolite.com/

      • Matt April 15, 2010 at 10:40 #

        Not sure if you watch Bill Maher or not- but last week, he and billie joe armstrong talked about vaporizers…I like BJA’s take on them.

        Armstrong: “I like burning the substance. It smells good. It fills the room. You vaporize it and it’s just one more reason to hide the fact that it’s something that should be legal.”

  7. Juliana April 15, 2010 at 11:02 #

    i *love* the smell, the ritual, etc… but you can’t deny that smoke is a carcinogen. i just wanna live a long and healthy life 🙂 plus, dude, it saves you a lotta money.

  8. subject-verb agreement April 15, 2010 at 14:43 #

    this is not fiction. this is reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeal, damn it! *tries to reconstruct remnants of bubble*

  9. The Girl Is Goosed April 16, 2010 at 13:10 #

    * sigh * Lol, a girl can dream, eh? Haha…

Leave a Reply

