Mmm

8 May

I wish I were like my dog; with a bone to chew, sitting on the steps
entertained by people and cars occasionally passing by.
Interested in suburban smells and satisfied with tasteless meals.

It would come in handy on rainy days,
especially ones that come unexpectedly after weeks of sunshine.
When even inside a bright café, I can feel the weight of dark clouds.

Under the sun I make friends with people, flowers, animals, architecture.
Everything and everyone glows, colors and scents are highlighted.
I can take it all in with no effort and be happy on my own.

But after hours of rain I’m cold and annoyed.
I don’t get smiles, I don’t give them away.
My mind can’t be cleared and there’s no moment to be seized.

In fact, there are only flashbacks of yesterday to remind me
how in the end – despite all rhetoric – I’m at the mercy of sunshine.
At the very least the dog will be asleep in minutes and wake up to blue skies.
I’m wide awake with the suburban noise, harsh winds and bitter thoughts.

6 Responses to “Mmm”

  1. Mel May 9, 2010 at 00:52 #

    This is beautifully written.

    As I read your poem I’m sitting in the park watching people with their dogs, an it does seem like a wonderfully carefree existence. Content and never concerned about what tomorrow will bring.

  2. Mr. Apron May 10, 2010 at 07:58 #

    I very much enjoyed this post. I have oftentimes wished I was a dog, too. And then I catch my dog eating her own shit.

  3. Sara May 10, 2010 at 08:01 #

    Love it. And I love what you’ve done with the place here. : )

  4. Danaconda May 10, 2010 at 09:14 #

    That, Juliana, is why chocolate was invented.

    I wish to be my dog too sometimes, except with testicles. Such a life of simplicity with the ‘ignorance is bliss’ notion, but when one has bad days it makes them appreciate the better ones more. It’s a balance of life that I’ve grown to appreciate; things can’t be one way for too long. I always like to say, “Life sucks until it gets good again,” and vice versa.

    • Juliana May 10, 2010 at 09:30 #

      chocolate, beer, weed, reading, writing… all escapist tools 🙂

  5. SassyGirl May 10, 2010 at 17:33 #

    Lovely poem – I agree with your sentiments completely. I am often jealous of a simpler life, be it my dog’s or someone else’s. But my life has higher highs and lower lows, and the thing about trading it for something else is that I would miss out on the higher highs. They make all this worth it.

Leave a Reply

